Photoshop Tips – Introduction

Hi – when I started out as a photographer, I quickly realised I had to get to grips with photoshop!  Photoshop is an awesome image editing programme with the ability to create amazing images.  I am still learning what it can do every day.  I imagine there are a lot of people out there who are at a different stage of this journey – and some of you might find it useful if I write a series of photoshop hints and tips – which will include links to other resources and further reading.  I am sure I will learn from you too!

This is just an introduction – so let’s start at the beginning 🙂

Here is a link to my photoshop bible:  

The Photoshop CS4 Book. Scott Kelby (latest edition).

The link will take you to Scott’s own site but try Amazon for second hand copies.

I still use the CS2 version of this book every day despite the fact that I now use CS3 (and CS4 is already out there).  There is everything you need to know – from setting photoshop up properly to working with RAW files.   If you don’t know what RAW files are and why you should – buy this book!

I hope this series of tips will build into a useful resource – but I really need feedback and comments to make it better.  Together with my Digital Photography Tips category of posts – I want this to be a sound starting point for people who want to learn more about their camera and the software needed to manipulate images.

Although I will concentrate on Photoshop – there is a stripped down version called Elements that many of you will have as it normally comes supplied with your digital camera.  Many of the Photoshop techniques described here can be achieved in elements – but usually in a slightly different way which I will cover where applicable.

Click here if you wish to purchase the latest version of Photoshop (CS4).

More soon…

~ by rjmphotographic on March 30, 2009.

One Response to “Photoshop Tips – Introduction”

  1. Photoshop is indeed an essential tool for photographers. They are also a must-learn for graphic designers, web designers, artists. With Photoshop, the learning never stops, as there are always new stuff to try out, new tips and techniques to learn, new effects to discover.

Leave a Reply

 
